BFC home About BFC Community Profiles Apply Technical Assistance FAQ's Media Contact

About BFC
The Bicycle Friendly Communities Campaign is an awards program that recognizes municipalities that actively support bicycling. A Bicycle-Friendly Community provides safe accommodation for cycling and encourages its residents to bike for transportation and recreation. To view an overview presentation on the program, click here.

Encouraging bicycling is a simple way towards improving public health. With more people bicycling, communities experience reduced traffic demands, improved air quality and greater physical fitness. In addition, bicycle-friendly towns are often seen as places with a high quality of life. This can translate into increased property values, business growth and increased tourism.

How to Apply
There are two steps to apply for Bicycle Friendly Community status:

    First, complete and submit Part 1 of the application. After a review of your general community profile, the League will inform you if you have met some of the basic criteria required.

    Part 2 is a detailed audit of the engineering, education, encouragement, enforcement and evaluation efforts in your municipality. This comprehensive inquiry is designed to yield a holistic picture of your community's work to promote bicycling. Technical assistance for completing Part 2 is available.

    "You and other bicyclists in the community can bring this program, particularly the application, to your mayor or county council to initiate positive change in your neighborhood. Click here for more information...
Award Determination
A committee reviews and scores the application and consults with local cyclists in your community. An award of platinum, gold, silver or bronze status is designated for two years. The League and technical assistance staff will continue to work with awardees and those communities that do not yet meet the criteria to encourage continual improvements. Click here to read how this is working for one community.

The League of American Bicyclists recognizes newly designated Bicycle Friendly Communities with an awards ceremony, a Bicycle-Friendly Community road sign, and a formal press announcement.
    Renewing the Designation
    You will complete a simple renewal form to compliment your original application so that the League of American Bicyclists can continue to recognize your progress. Renewals are due every four years after a community is designated or receives their renewal notice. The League will also require a short annual update. Award levels may change based on the renewal feedback.
About the League
The League of American Bicyclists promotes bicycling for fun, fitness and transportation and works through advocacy and education for a bicycle-friendly America. The League represents the interests of the nation's 42 million cyclists. With a current membership of 300,000 affiliated cyclists, including 40,000 individuals and 600 affiliated organizations, the League works to bring better bicycling to your community. If you care about bicycling, become a League member today.
Read more about the League...

National Advisory Group
The National Advisory Group for the Bicycle Friendly Community program provides guidance on program development and priorities. The Advisory group members are:

John Allen, Board of Directors Member, League of American Bicyclists
Tim Blumenthal, Executive Director, Bikes Belong Coalition
Tim Bustos, Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator, University of California at Berkeley
Natalie Cappuccio-Britt, Executive Director, Palmetto Cycling Coalition
Mike Greehan, Advocacy Director, Interbike

Martin Guttenplan, Florida Department of Transportation
Laura Hallam, Executive Director, Florida Bicycle Association
Tom Huber, Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator, Wisconsin DOT
Randy Neufeld, Executive Director, Chicagoland Bicycle Federation
Jeff Olson, Architect, Alta Planning+Design
Jim Sebastian, Bike Ped Coordinator, DC Office of Transportation Planning
Sarah Strunk, Director, Active Living By Design
Jennifer Toole, President, Toole Design Group
Elizabeth Train, Grants & Research Director, Bike Belong Coalition
Alan Turnbull, National Park Service Rivers, Trails, & Conservation Assistance
W. Preston Tyree, Executive Director, Community Mobility Institute
Dru van Hengel, Mobility Coordinator, City of Santa Barbara
Robbie Webber, Project Coordinator, Bicycle Federation of Wisconsin
Charlie Zegeer, Director, Pedestrian & Bicycle Information Center

Home  |  About BFC  |  Community Profiles  |  Apply  |  Technical Assistance  |  FAQ's  |  Media  |  Contact

The League of American Bicyclists , 1612 K Street NW, Suite 800 Washington, DC 20006-2802
phone - 202-822-1333 fax - 202-822-1334 email - [email protected]

The Bicycle Friendly Community Program is supported by the

Bicycle Friendly Communities Home League of American Bicyclists